Girl Post: Don’t Cut Your Hair?

I have often had various female relatives exclaim to me, “Your hair grows so fast!” I don’t think that’s actually the case. I just developed a habit of staying out of hair salons.

However, I changed my hairstyle before going on our trip to Europe, because I wear my hair up 99% of the time and I wanted bangs so that I’d actually look like I had hair in all the photographs! So I did indeed darken the doorway of a salon, and despite my nerves it turned out just fine, and my husband likes the new look. (The long bangs act to give more volume in the front of my face without my having to do anything even when they’re pulled back – they’re not weighed down by length caught in my Dutch braid so they puff out a bit! Win!)

However, now that my hair is > 36″ I’m starting to notice some difficulty in combing it out – split ends act like velcro and the strands are increasingly fragile and breaking at the tips. I don’t want that traveling upwards, not if I’m going for “classic” (fingertip-length) hair. So I figure if I hold at my current length for a year and actually get my hair trimmed when I go in to get my bangs trimmed, this will help with the next two-year phase of the growing-out process. And hopefully cut down on the frizz levels. I’m sure the hairdressers will want me to keep coming in for more trims after a year is up, but I don’t think that’s really necessary. At least not for my hair-type.

I do occasionally get the question about whether I’m growing my hair out for Locks of Love. Not this time!

About pancakeloach

pancakeloach.wordpress.com :)
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

