Gatekeeping and marketing

When I was a kid, I would read just about anything. And I do mean ANYTHING, including things that I regret reading now… there’s just never enough brain-bleach after stumbling into some corners of the internet as a curious teen.

‘Course, right now I’m wishing for the brain-bleach after having read a portion of the Hugo-nominated work Sex Criminals Volume 1. Ugh. UGH. We really need to get about a million more people involved in the nomination process so trash like that doesn’t cross my monitor.

Which is part of the annoyance that feeds the Puppies campaigns. Look, I don’t have time to read everything anymore – I only darken the doors of the public library when I’ve ordered something ahead of time, these days. And I don’t trust the curating at public libraries either – my entire county library system doesn’t have even a single copy of most of the Monster Hunters International series. (It has eight copies of Ancillary Justice, and four copies of Ancillary Sword.)

And then there’s indy, and the fact that MPAI and have no taste. Seriously. Try taking a look at the most “favorited” fanfictions sometime – it’s enough to lower one’s faith in humanity, or at least to prove that the fanfic-reading public has not just no taste but in some cases anti-taste. Sometimes what’s popular is decent. Sometimes it’s not. And marketing hype is usually disappointing.

So the people whose jobs it is to find good stuff and publicize it aren’t doing a good job, and the various democratic methods of finding good stuff and rating it falls prey to the fact that people are different and like different things. Go figure. But I still want good stuff to read, while waiting more-or-less impatiently for the favorite authors to get on with releasing their next bit.

So I suppose it’s time to hunt up some recommendations! At least until the various Amazon- and Netflix-type algorithms become psychic and can figure out what sort of entertainment I’m in the mood to consume whenever I look for something.

About pancakeloach

pancakeloach.wordpress.com :)
This entry was posted in Entertainment Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gatekeeping and marketing

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    Are you asking for recommendations? If you like the Monster Hunter International series you could check out these:

    http://www.amazon.com/City-Whispers-1-ebook/dp/B006N1OA4M

    http://www.amazon.com/American-Ghoul-Walt-Morton-ebook/dp/B00AFCTMCU

    http://www.amazon.com/Deeper-Jane-Thomson-ebook/dp/B00D59O1W6

    http://www.amazon.com/Matt-Archer-Monster-Hunter-ebook/dp/B008ZFFZPC

    http://www.amazon.com/Imminent-Danger-How-Straight-into-ebook/dp/B00S4B9U62

    None of these are mine, I don’t get any kickbacks, and only one of the authors who I am. These are just books that I personally enjoyed and think are worth recommending.

  2. MishaBurnett says:

    The penultimate line should read “only one of the authors knows who I am”.

  3. Foxfier says:

    Thank goodness Monster Hunters International went free, I’ve been trying to get my husband to read it and our library system doesn’t have it, either. And nobody sells their copies at the second hand store. 😀

  4. Foxfier says:

    (If he likes it, we’ll be buying the whole set…but we really don’t have the ROOM for more “try it” books.)

Leave a Reply

