Cultural differences

One of my favorite places from our recent trip to Italy was Vernazza. Among the interesting features of this beautiful place is the presence of personal clotheslines mounted below what certainly seemed like every single window in town! I did not actually use the clothesline outside the window of our rented room, but other people were certainly using theirs.

Returning home, we arrived to find that High Summer had decided to move in early (where was global warming when we needed it this past winter?!) and I was utterly unwilling to run our electric clothes-dryer when it was reaching 100F outside, despite having mountains of laundry to wash. Instead, I made do with a tiny clothes-drying rack and the railings of our currently-un-curtained “canopy” style bed.

Nobody in the neighborhood has a clothesline – that I know of, at least. They’re actually banned in the HOA regulations. Meanwhile, the Vernazza townhomes are constructed even closer together than the townhomes in my neighborhood – walk through the alleyway-street right after someone puts out their laundry and I bet you’ll get dripped on!

And wishing for a clothesline – even one inside the house! – got me to thinking that in the past, everyone’s linens would have been full of the local dust and pollen, even (especially!) when it was fresh from the laundry. To me with my modern full complement of allergies, that sounds terrible – but what if drying laundry outside will help my kids avoid inheriting my allergy problems? Chalk up one more reason to move out of suburbia.

About pancakeloach

pancakeloach.wordpress.com :)
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

