Moral hypocrisy

In the last couple posts, I think I have made fairly clear that I have personal issues with adults who impose legalistic morality on others, particularly young people, without counting the damage this causes. As in, this is literally a life-and-death issue for some young women and it’s not very “Christian” to drive girls to utter despair because of moral condemnations based on subjective rules about proper attire.

I’m not being excessively dramatic. I personally know someone who was put on suicide watch in a hospital as a direct result of enduring a totalitarian “Christian” gulag obsessed with “modesty” and “purity” – which organization was so lovingly Christian that they banned her from their school property, despite the fact that she had nowhere else to go after the hospital discharged her.

I have a lot of swear words reserved for people like that.

Until now, I’ve tried to be careful not to tar those who might well have good intentions with accusations of sin, but at this point I think the responses speak very clearly about what’s going on here. I see that it is useless to agree with someone that modesty is a virtue to be pursued if I do not also agree in all respects with their own opinions on even mere aesthetics. This topic is apparently meant for social signaling and status posturing, not reason and debate. I have very little patience for status jockeying of this sort.

If you reserve the right to call others sinful for their dress, will you then be so tender-skinned as to respond with violent defenses when someone calls you merely unstylish, and expresses concern for avoiding the trap Satan sets out and which so easily waylays people wishing only to do what is right?

What, did you think you could start a conversation about judging others and not be judged yourselves? That’s hilarious! You would think that I had proclaimed that frumps are going to Hell, or some such ridiculous notion like that – when as far as I can tell I’m the one who DIDN’T start off by accusing other Christians of sin.

Yeah, I’m totally judging you now. Feel the weight of my judging stare through the pixels on your screen. JUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDGEMENT. Complete with Disapproving Eyebrows.

>:|

>:|

>:|

Status notification: You’ve been judged.

If what some random woman on the internet thinks matters to you so much you have to pull the Don’t Judge Me Card, after having already pulled the Holier Than Thou Card… you’ve got bigger problems than women wearing leggings in public, people.


 

I have discussed the matter with my own husband. Here is a handy CS Lewis quote that encapsulates some of his opinion:

If anyone thinks that Christians regard unchastity as the supreme vice, he is quite wrong. The sins of the flesh are bad, but they are the least bad of all sins. All the worst pleasures are purely spiritual: the pleasure of putting other people in the wrong, of bossing and patronising and spoiling sport, and backbiting; the pleasures of power, of hatred. For there are two things inside me, competing with the human self which I must try to become. They are the Animal self, and the Diabolical self. The Diabolical self is the worse of the two. That is why a cold, self-righteous prig who goes regularly to church may be far nearer to hell than a prostitute. But, of course, it is better to be neither.

About pancakeloach

pancakeloach.wordpress.com :)
This entry was posted in Philosophizing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

