Why I support GamerGate

Why would I support GamerGate, when I’m not a games enthusiast myself? I’m a very casual gamer; I don’t obsess over each new release or go piling up a virtual shopping cart of games on Steam every time there’s a sale. So why should I care?

Well. There’s this.

But the real thing that crossed the line, for me personally? “Gamers are dead.”

You know who those punks are talking smack about? My dad. My brothers. My HUSBAND.

Oh no you didn’t, you bigoted electron-wasters.

I can’t stand hypocrites. I can’t stand narcissistic predators. I certainly can’t stand radical feminist activists, who have a tendency to be both of the above. But what really ticks me off? They ATTACKED my FAMILY. Neckbearded cis white males living in parents’ basements? You think those men don’t have families that love them, so they’re safe targets for your hate? Guess again. You think all gamers meet that stereotype? You’re not just a bigot, you’re a moron.

You know what? I never had “normal” friends past the age of six or so. My social life, as an extremely introverted bookworm, was nonexistent – until I became friends with gamers. I often don’t agree theologically, politically, ideologically, etc. with everyone else in the gaming community – and I’m okay with people disagreeing with me and thinking I’m wrong! Because those things are not what gaming is about! And trying to make gaming be about ideological conformity is WRONG. This is the last bastion of those who Don’t Fit In Anywhere Else. This is the real safe space – where people rise or fall in the eyes of their peers based on what they DO and not their physically-determined “identity.” In gaming, it doesn’t matter what your chromosomes are or what gender you identify as or who you’re attracted to or whether other people think you’re crazier than a psychologist convention. It doesn’t matter what you look like or where your ancestors came from or if you failed the sixth grade three times. It doesn’t even matter if you’re rich as Croesus or if you live off of ramen cups in a dingy apartment. All of the limitations of physical reality that bind us in “the real world”? None of that matters in gaming. And that’s a precious, precious thing that needs to be protected from identity grievance-mongers.

I also don’t mind that people in GamerGate will inevitably think that I have Raving Lunatic beliefs. I happen to think that about some of them right back. But as long as we’re OKAY with being DIFFERENT we can leave those differences aside and all get along and shoot Nazi zombies and have fun together. The enemies of GamerGate want to destroy that freedom. I happen to think it’s worth fighting for.

And nobody gets to say that my friends and family are “over” or “dead” or stereotype them as failures and use them as punching bags. I was on the sidelines until anti-GamerGate attacked my family. They attacked my friends. They were sticking knives into the backs of my precious people, spreading the bigotry and hatred that robs good men of opportunity and the respect they deserve as human beings. You know what? That makes GamerGaters my people, because even when we disagree about other things, we believe in truth, honesty, honor, freedom – and individuality.

Just because the jackbooted groupthink thugs aren’t stomping on my face yet doesn’t mean I’m not going to do all I can to thwart them now.

About pancakeloach

pancakeloach.wordpress.com :)
This entry was posted in Entertainment Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I support GamerGate

  1. John C Wright says:

    Bravo!

  2. Let me clarify something… “Gamers are dead” simply means that today, so many people are playing video games, that being a gamer isn’t something “special”, something distinct from the rest of humanity. “Gamers” as a small subculture are dead. Long life the gamers: All of us. And as someone who has been a gamer for more than 20 years now, I’m happy to welcome the rest of humanity in our ranks – and accept that the title of “gamer” is as important now as is the title or “reader” or “tv watcher”. Nothing special anymore. Hooray.

    • pancakeloach says:

      I disagree. “Gamers are dead” is NOT what someone would say when they mean “everyone is a gamer now.” And you are factually incorrect: gaming as a subculture has its own identity and people like YOU are trying to strip that identity away by claiming that “everybody” is a gamer now. Guess what? Not everyone is a TV enthusiast even if they do watch some TV – if there even is a TV enthusiast subculture to begin with; I’ve certainly never heard of one. Go play with the cool kids and stop giving cover to the bullies who are engaging in vicious stereotyping by promulgating their self-serving, retconned excuses like that one.

      • There has never been a gamer subculture. There always were dozens, at least. Not one nice group, but simply people playing different games in different ways. I know that because I was in more than one. PC vs. Console, Shooter vs. RPG, JRPG vs. etc… So many ways to play (and so many childish discussions what is better… ah, the days of my youth, well spent *g*).

        And if someone else can strip your identity away, then all it is is a mask. Nobody can strip my identity away. It’s simply impossible. But that doesn’t change the fact that being a gamer today is nothing special anymore. It never was, actually.

        That people seek a tribe is quite normal. It is also normal searching for an enemy outside that tribe, to increase the bonding. Nothing special here. Of course, the fact that this tribes thinks it’s special to do what the majority of people do, is quite ironic. Almost as ironic as you using the word “retcon” in context with GamerGate (“Actually, it’s about ethics in game journalism”).

        Oh, and if you want to take a look at GamerGate now… That’s Jack Thompson they are supporting now for saying something bad about Anita Sarkeesian. Sorry, but if there was a gamer subculture, we needed to arrange a meeting and throw that guys out. Fortunately, there never was.

Leave a Reply

