Fish Profiles – pancakeloach

About the blog title: the proper name of a “pancake loach” is “butterfly hillstream loach” – a type of freshwater fish that lives in (relatively) cold, clear streams and has a flat body. They’re cute little guys – I don’t have any right now, though, because all my aquariums are tropical, which get too hot for them. Check them out here!

If I were going to set up a habitat for them (which I’m not, because I’m maxed out on the space I have for tanks), I would be looking for long tanks and a filter system I could set up to get as much uni-directional flow as possible, to simulate the riparian environment. That would take some doing – most commercial filters aren’t designed to operate in that fashion.

Speaking of tanks, it’s time to go do weekly water changes on mine!

About pancakeloach

pancakeloach.wordpress.com :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

